What's the difference between chutney and salsa?

Salsa (sauce in Spanish) typically refers to the style of sauces you would put on a burrito or dip tortilla chips in. Chutney is a category of spreads popular in the Indian subcontinent with a different set of flavors. Their uses are similar, but the flavors are very different.