What's the history of daylight savings time?

DST was first implemented in the US with the Standard Time Act, a wartime measure for seven months during World War I in the interest of adding more daylight hours to conserve energy resources. However that is silly it didn't add daylight hours it just shifted the time by 1 hour 2 times a year