Is captain crunch really a captain?

Beloved cereal icon Cap'n Crunch is involved in a soggy controversy. It turns out the so-called Cap'n is not actually a captain at all. By the looks of his uniform, he may only be a commander. ... It takes four stripes to become a captain, which is one rank above commander.