What does bane of arthropods mean in minecraft?

The Bane of Arthropods enchantment increases your attack damage against mobs such as spiders, cave spiders, silverfish, and endermites. You can add the Bane of Arthropods enchantment to any sword or axe using an enchanting table, anvil, or game command.