Can you put dish soap in a dishwasher?

Your dish soap should say in small letters whether or not it is dishwasher compatible. If it is, you can fill to the line in the small compartment for dish soap. If it is not, putting it in your dishwasher will not harm the dishwasher, but it may flood your kitchen with suds.