How long does it take for ice to freeze?

It varies depending on the temperature and the amount of water involved. Standard ice cubes in your freezer should freeze in 3 to 4 hours. A portable ice maker will make a batch in 15 to 20 minutes. The more water there is and the higher the ambient temperature, the slower the process.