How long does it take for ice to freeze?

It varies depending on the temperature and the amount of water involved. Standard ice cubes in your freezer should freeze in 3 to 4 hours. A portable ice maker will make a batch in 15 to 20 minutes. The more water there is and the higher the ambient temperature, the slower the process.

---

I’m order for the water to freeze into solid cubes, you'll need to leave the tray in the freezer for approximately six hours. For best results, however, leave the tray in the freezer overnight.