Why does the rain in spain stay mainly on the plain?

The rain in Spain stays mainly on the plain is an elocution lesson from "My Fair Lady" designed for the Audrey Hepburn character to lose her cockney accent. It does not rain mainly on the plain in Spain, more rain falls along the coast and in the mountains of Spain.