Why is the bald eagle the national bird?

The bald eagle's role as a national symbol is linked to its 1782 landing on the Great Seal of the United States. ... Thomson also recommended that the small, white eagle used in Barton's design be replaced with an American bald eagle, and Congress adopted this design on June 20, 1782.