What does kennedy mean in america?

In America, "Kennedy" doesn't mean anything in particular: it's a surname, and occasionally used as a first name for either boys or girls. The name probably originated as an Anglicized version of the Irish Gaelic name, Cinnéidigh, which means "helmeted chief."