What is a project management plan?

A Project Management Plan is a series of resources that collectively provides the full scope of how and when a project's objectives are going to be achieved and who will participate in project activities. These resources include a Communications Plan, Risk Plan, Governance Plan, Budget and Schedule.

---

A Project management plan is a formal, approved document that defines how a project is executed, monitored, and controlled. It may be a summary or a detailed document and may include baselines, subsidiary management plans, and other planning documents.