What is grindylow in harry potter?

The grindylow was not invented by JK Rowling. In English folklore, grindylow or grundylow is a creature in the counties of Yorkshire and Lancashire. It is a a type of water spirit said to grab little children from the edge of a body of water and pull them under.

---

A grindylow is an underwater creature that lives in the Black Lake, sometimes called the Great Lake, at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Grindylows were part of the second task in the Triwizard Tournament in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, the fourth book.