Why isn't the sky purple?

The sky actually is: bluish violet; but the blue color-sensitive cells in human eyes, called cones, aren't as sensitive to violet. The amount of violet detected by our red and green cones are similar, so their tinges tend to wash out the violet, leaving only blue.