Why do dogs kick their legs when you pet them?

Dogs shake or kick their legs when you scratch them because of something known as the scratch reflex. ... It activates nerves under his skin that are connected to his spinal cord and relays a message to his leg muscles to kick in an attempt to get rid of the irritant.