What happens when a dogs nose is dry?

A dry dog nose can quickly go from bad to worse, drying out and forming crusty scabs that flake off and bleed. It is a commonly cited fact that if your dog's nose is dry they are sick. It doesn't always mean your dog is sick, but it does indicate an underlying issue such as an allergy or irritant.