When was buck rogers on tv?

The series, Buck Rogers, ran for two seasons between September 1979 and April 1981 on NBC, and the feature-length pilot episode for was released as a theatrical film before the series aired. The film and series were based on the character Buck Rogers created in 1928 by Philip Francis Nowlan.