What is the slender man stabbing?

On May 31, 2014 in Waukesha, Wisconsin, a pair of 12 year old girls attacked a classmate with a knife in an attempt to appease the Slender Man, a mythological being. The victim survived, and the perpetrators were involuntarily committed to mental health treatment after a trial.