Why do men have morning wood?

The sacral nerve, which controls erections, is part of the parasympathetic nervous system, active during REM sleep, so erections will often occur through the night as the body tests its systems during sleep cycles. When waking, people are usually leaving REM sleep so the penis may still be engorged.