Why do dogs lick himself?

Dog are overall clean animals, and will often clean up after being outside. They also groom the genital area after voiding. Some dogs will lick themselves out of boredom, which tends to be a benign behavior. However, abnormal licking can stem from anxiety and other obsessive behaviors.