Is there a transition word?

No, none of the three forms of the word "there" is a transition word. T-H-E-R-E is considered a locative noun; T-H-E-I-R is a possessive pronoun used as an adjective; and T-H-E-Y-apostrophe-R-E is a contraction of the phrase "they are."