How do you carve pumpkins in minecraft?

Hold your Shears. Next, place the shears in your hand by selecting them in the hotbar. Use the Shears. Next, use the shears on the pumpkin to carve the face into the pumpkin. Dig up the Carved Pumpkin. Now you can dig up the carved pumpkin. Pick up the Carved Pumpkin.