What are the origins of the name catherine?

Catherine is a girl's name of Greek origin. Derived from the Greek word "katharos," it means "pure" and has several variations, including Katherine and Katharyn. The Duchess of Cambridge is one of the most famous figures with this name, although she is more commonly known as Kate Middleton.