Why are cars called cars?

The word CAR is derived from the Latin term vehiculum, which became vehicle in English. In Latin, carrus means a wagon, a four-wheeled baggage cart, cartload or wagonload.

---

The word car first appeared in English around 1300 to mean a horse-drawn cart or wagon and evolved to mean the passenger compartment of transportation devices (i.e., a cable car or an elevator car). It wasn’t until 1896 that car was first used for what we now also call an automobile.