What does a. u. s. t. e. r. e. mean?

"Austere" in its most literal sense means strict or severe in manner, attitude, or appearance. It can also refer to a lifestyle that's simple, with few if any comforts or luxuries; or to a government's attempts to reduce a budget deficit by severely cutting public expenditures.