What is in five spice seasoning?

Five spice seasoning commonly contains star anise, cloves, Chinese cinnamon, Szechuan peppercorns, and fennel seed, although there can be slight variations including ginger, cardamom, anise seed, turmeric, or orange peel. The spices are generally toasted whole and then ground.