How is a record made?

First, the songs are recorded and mixed, creating a master audio file. This is played to a special cutting lathe that uses a vibrating needle to cut a groove in a lacquer master. This is nickel plated. The plate is peeled off and used to stamp copies into hot vinyl disks.