How do you measure the sun?

By measuring the distance between Earth and another celestial object, one can then calculate Earth's distance to the sun (and by extension its width). First attempted by the Greek astronomer Aristarchus in 250 B.C. It wasn't until 1672 that Cassini arrived at accurate distance to the Sun.