Why did the persians invade greece?

The First Persian Invasion of Greece occurred in 490 BC. The invasion was carried out to punish the cities (Athens and Eretria) that supported the Ionian Revolt. ... In summary, Persia's desire for political and territorial conquest was the main cause of the wars between Greece and Persia.