Is there a difference between a typhoon and a hurricane?

The only difference between a hurricane and a typhoon is the location where the storm occurs. In the North Atlantic, central North Pacific, and eastern North Pacific, the term hurricane is used. The same type of disturbance in the Northwest Pacific is called a typhoon.