Who invented the pineapple upside down cake?

The 1st mention in print of such a cake was in 1930, but the cake is somewhat older. In Fashionable Food: 7 Decades of Food Fads, traces pineapple upside-down cake to a 1924 Seattle fund-raising cookbook with a round cake with 6 slices of pineapple, candied red cherries, and a brown sugar glaze.