How does bamboo grow?

Bamboo produces new canes (culms) in the Spring. These shoots emerge out of the ground and grow in height and diameter for around 60 days. ... Bamboo doesn't experience secondary growth like trees or most flora. It will put on new foliage every year, and a cane typically lives for 10 years.