How long does trash last?

It depends on what sort of trash you toss out. Plastic items can take up to 1,000 years to decompose in landfills. Even plastic bags we use in our everyday life take anywhere from 10 to 1,000 years to decompose, and plastic bottles can take 450 years or more. Paper only lasts 2-6 weeks.