How long does bar and chain oil last?

Bar oil itself lasts indefinitely; it's the containers holding the oil that determines the shelf life. Bar oil will stay in most bottles for between 3 and 7 years. The oil base determines how long it lasts; synthetic oils will last longest, and mineral or plant-based oils have a shorter shelf life.