What are crystal rocks?

According to Britannica, rock crystal, transparent variety of the silica mineral quartz that is valued for its clarity and total lack of colour or flaws. Vessels and spheres carved from large crystals since ancient times, and the application of the word crystal to fine glassware derives from this.