How do you cut beef meat?

For beef, you should always cut across the grain of the meat. The grain of the steak is referring to the direction the muscle fibers run within the piece of meat. Cutting against the grain means to cut through the fibers and make them shorter. This makes the meat more tender and easier to chew.