What is the average global temperature?

The 2017 average global temperature across land and ocean surface areas was 0.84°C (1.51°F) above the 20th century average of 13.9°C (57.0°F), behind the record year 2016 (+0.94°C - +1.69°F) and 2015 (+0.90°C - +1.62°F; second warmest year on record) both influenced by a strong El Niño episode.