What does it mean when your dog pant a lot?

Dogs rely on panting as their primary means for getting rid of excess body heat. So, dogs commonly pant on a hot day or following exercise. Panting is considered abnormal when it occurs for reasons other than heat dissipation and can be a sign of potentially serious health issues.