Why are most calico cats female ?

male cats have XY sex chromosomes, while females have XX. The X chromosomes carry the genes for coat colours. female cats inherit their coat colour from both their queens (XX) and their toms (XY). To create a calico one of the X chromosomes must carry the black gene and the other the orange gene.