How do you know which way the grain runs in meat?

The grain of the meat refers to the direction that the muscle fibers lie in your cut of meat. The first thing you want to do is look for the grain by seeing what direction lines move across your piece of meat. You can see them on both cooked and raw cuts, and they resemble long streaks.