What materials are microwave safe?

Glass, many ceramics, and most plastics are microwave safe. When in doubt, microwave the dish or container empty for 15 seconds on high. If it becomes warm do not use it. To be sure, if the object is not yet warm, try it for 30 seconds. Again, if warm do not use.