What's the difference between self rising flour and plain flour?

Self-raising flour has a raising agent, and sometimes salt, already added to it. Plain flour requires you to add your raising agents separately to make your bakes rise. Professional bakers never use self-rising flour because you don't know the additions and it is always best to add your own.