What does it mean when a dog pants?

Some common reasons dogs pant heavily include: Heatstroke or poisoning. It's normal for a dog to start breathing harder or panting after exertion. However, heavy panting is also a sign a dog may be suffering from heatstroke or may have consumed a toxic substance.