Where do toads lay eggs?

Toads lay eggs in their habitat. For example, toads that live near ponds usually lay them in the shallow areas near the waters edge. The same goes for creeks, rivers, lakes, etc. They prefer areas with some camouflage, such as reeds, aquatic plants, etc.