How far can a horse run at full speed?

The farthest most horses can sustain a gallop is thought to be around 2 miles, but some Arabian horses can gallop for 2.5 miles before fatigue is a factor. The gallop is the fastest method of movement for the horse, averaging approximately 25 to 30 mph.