How is root beer invented?

Pharmacist Charles Elmer Hires was the first to market a brand of root beer. Hires developed his root tea made from sassafras in 1875. Hires wanted to call it "root tea". However, his desire to market the product to Pennsylvania coal miners caused him to call his product "root beer", instead.