What happens if you don't show up to jury duty?

In the United States, The letter notifying you of your selection for jury duty is a legally enforceable court summons. Depending on the state and the court, the consequences of ignoring a summons can range from receiving another summons, to criminal penalties, including fines or even incarceration.