Why did they make the song we are the world?

"We Are the World" is a charity single originally recorded by the supergroup USA for Africa in 1985. It was written by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie for the album We Are the World. With sales in excess of 20 million copies, it is the eighth best-selling physical single of all time