How do you know when avocado is right?

Ripe, ready to eat avocados may have a darker color but color can vary so it is best to go by feel as well as color. It will feel lightly soft but it will not feel “mushy” to the touch.

---

An avocado is ripe and ready to eat when it is slightly soft to the touch and dark green in color.