What are your kidneys?

Kidneys are bean-shaped organs located close to the spine and partially protected by the 11th and 12th ribs. Kidneys remove waste from blood, but are also involved in whole-body homeostasis such as regulating acid-base balance, electrolyte concentrations, and blood pressure.