Is a four year old kid a toddler?

According to the American Academy for Pediatrics a toddler is between 1 and 3 years old. It is a developmental stage -children become more social, follow 2-3 step directions, sort objects by shape and color, become ready for pre-school. Children vary so some will be there by 2, some not until 4.