What is gadolinium used for?

It's used in MRI and other forms of medical imaging. It has uses in nuclear reactor shielding. Small amounts can improve the workability and resistance of iron, chromium, and related alloys to high temperatures and oxidation. It may be useful in magnetic refrigeration and in some fuel cells